Out of memory when turning on RMI generation

Report bugs in the RMI plugin here

Out of memory when turning on RMI generation

Postby pelakh » Fri Feb 11, 2005 4:14 pm

Eclipse 3.0.1 on Windows XP, RMI Plugin 1.6.1.2. I just installed the plugin for the first time, to see if it would work with this source base. When I turn on generation for my project, the rebuild gets to about 61%, and then complains of an 'OutOfMemory' exception. I am already running with -Xmx on a 1GB system, and the project is not THAT large.

Here are the contents of the .log file for the session:

!SESSION Feb 11, 2005 11:05:53.147 ---------------------------------------------
eclipse.buildId=M200409161125
java.version=1.4.1_02
java.vendor=Sun Microsystems Inc.
BootLoader constants: OS=win32, ARCH=x86, WS=win32, NL=en_US

!ENTRY org.eclipse.core.runtime 4 2 Feb 11, 2005 11:05:53.147
!MESSAGE An internal error occurred during: "Building workspace".
!STACK 0
java.lang.OutOfMemoryError

!ENTRY org.eclipse.ui 4 4 Feb 11, 2005 11:05:53.163
!MESSAGE Unhandled event loop exception

!ENTRY org.eclipse.ui 4 0 Feb 11, 2005 11:05:53.163
!MESSAGE java.lang.OutOfMemoryError
!STACK 0
java.lang.OutOfMemoryError
pelakh
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2005 4:09 pm

Postby genady » Sat Feb 12, 2005 11:10 am

Is it possible that you use very large libraries?

Do you experience similar problems with other JDT tools, such as
hierarchy generation?

RMI Plugin does not allocate much memory and does not have large persistant state.

Please provide some numbers about your project, so I can try to estimate the possible effect on the RMI Plugin.

Genady
genady
Site Admin
 
Posts: 397
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2003 5:15 pm

Postby pelakh » Mon Jul 25, 2005 8:31 pm

genady wrote:Is it possible that you use very large libraries?


I do have a few JARs, and OpenMap is quite large. Though I have not experienced any problems with any other JDT tools.

genady wrote:Please provide some numbers about your project, so I can try to estimate the possible effect on the RMI Plugin.


How could I do this? What kind of numbers, and how could I extract them? Would it help if I broke up my project into several projects, with references?

I have just upgraded to 3.0.2 and 1.6.2, and wanted to try it again, but my 30-day license has expired. Is there a way for me to try it again - I don't want to purchase a license if I cannot get it to work. OTOH, we are transitioning a large group of people from JBuilder to Eclipse, so there are possibilities of a site license if the problem can be resolved.
pelakh
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2005 4:09 pm

Postby genady » Tue Jul 26, 2005 5:34 pm

Hi,

Breaking a project into several smaller projects should help. Yet it depends on the number of classes RMI Plugin has to consider in order to detect all remote classes.

Can you please email me the number of classes in your project?
How many Jars you use? How large (KBs) they are?

What are your memory settings? Do you pass any -Xmx switch to the java executable that runs Eclipse?

Best Regards,
Genady
genady
Site Admin
 
Posts: 397
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2003 5:15 pm

Success!

Postby pelakh » Tue Jul 26, 2005 6:19 pm

I was able to get things to work by breaking up the project into 4 separate projects (only one of which has RMI), and increasing -Xmx to 1GB.

I am now the happy owner of a RMI Plugin license - thanks for your help.
pelakh
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2005 4:09 pm

Postby genady » Wed Jul 27, 2005 7:47 pm

Cool!
If you need further assistance with technical problems simply post a reply to this thread.
If you need any information about purchasing additional licenses, please write to rmi-info@genady.net

Best Regards,
Genady
genady
Site Admin
 
Posts: 397
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2003 5:15 pm


Return to Bug reports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron