RMI plugin doens configure properly on update of Eclipse

Report bugs in the RMI plugin here

RMI plugin doens configure properly on update of Eclipse

Postby shmuels » Thu Jan 29, 2004 3:56 pm

I originally installed the plugin net.genady.rmi_1.5.5 for Eclipse 3.0 M6 on win2k sp4 J2sdk 1.5.0 and it worked fine.

My new environment is not standard in many ways and any of them could be the cause.
Java 1.5.0 build 31
Using linked plugin directories I moved the plugin to that directory
Eclipse Integration build 20040128

In this environment the plugin is listed as one of the plugins in about, but the builder fails Removing .config did not help

Here is the traceback if that helps
java.lang.InstantiationException: net.genady.rmi.RMIPlugin
at java.lang.Class.newInstance0(Class.java:303)
at java.lang.Class.newInstance(Class.java:271)
at org.eclipse.osgi.framework.internal.core.Bundle.loadBundleActivator(Bundle.java:170)
at org.eclipse.osgi.framework.internal.core.BundleContext.start(BundleContext.java:987)
at org.eclipse.osgi.framework.internal.core.BundleHost.startWorker(BundleHost.java:403)
at org.eclipse.osgi.framework.internal.core.Bundle.start(Bundle.java:312)
at org.eclipse.core.internal.registry.ConfigurationElement.createExecutableExtension(ConfigurationElement.java:133)
at org.eclipse.core.internal.registry.ConfigurationElement.createExecutableExtension(ConfigurationElement.java:125)
at org.eclipse.core.internal.registry.ConfigurationElement.createExecutableExtension(ConfigurationElement.java:114)
at org.eclipse.core.internal.events.BuildManager.instantiateBuilder(BuildManager.java:606)
at org.eclipse.core.internal.events.BuildManager.initializeBuilder(BuildManager.java:560)
at org.eclipse.core.internal.events.BuildManager.getBuilder(BuildManager.java:409)
at org.eclipse.core.internal.events.BuildManager.basicBuild(BuildManager.java:198)
at org.eclipse.core.internal.events.BuildManager.basicBuild(BuildManager.java:164)
at org.eclipse.core.internal.events.BuildManager$1.run(BuildManager.java:190)
at org.eclipse.core.internal.runtime.InternalPlatform.run(InternalPlatform.java:820)
at org.eclipse.core.runtime.Platform.run(Platform.java:471)
at org.eclipse.core.internal.events.BuildManager.basicBuild(BuildManager.java:193)
at org.eclipse.core.internal.events.BuildManager.basicBuildLoop(BuildManager.java:227)
at org.eclipse.core.internal.events.BuildManager.build(BuildManager.java:255)
at org.eclipse.core.internal.events.AutoBuildJob.doBuild(AutoBuildJob.java:90)
at org.eclipse.core.internal.events.AutoBuildJob.run(AutoBuildJob.java:116)
at org.eclipse.core.internal.jobs.Worker.run(Worker.java:62)
shmuels
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2004 6:28 pm

Postby genady » Sun Feb 01, 2004 9:49 am

I'm not aware of that "linked plugin directories" feature, so
obviously the plugin does not support it. When M7 is released
I will update the plugin to support its new features...

Genady
genady
Site Admin
 
Posts: 397
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2003 5:15 pm

Postby shmuels » Sun Feb 01, 2004 10:07 am

It is not a "new feature", it exists in the 2.0 stream. It might go under the name extension location in the documentation. In M6 configuration management there is an option to link an extension location. I didn't do it that way but this is similar to what I did. I used a script available at
http://home.nyc.rr.com/olegs/#Eclipse
[/quote]
shmuels
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2004 6:28 pm

Postby genady » Sun Feb 01, 2004 10:15 am

Do you mean the plugin folder is in a non-standard location, or the project resides in a "linked" folder?

Genady
genady
Site Admin
 
Posts: 397
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2003 5:15 pm

Postby shmuels » Mon Feb 02, 2004 1:09 pm

the plugin is in a non-standard location. That is, it is not in the plugin sub-directory of the install directory.
shmuels
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2004 6:28 pm

Postby genady » Mon Feb 02, 2004 1:12 pm

Well, I will try to reproduce it.
Do other plugins in that install location work correctly ?
genady
Site Admin
 
Posts: 397
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2003 5:15 pm

Postby shmuels » Mon Feb 02, 2004 3:17 pm

jdk15_1.0.2 doesn't work from there but emf and a profiler do.
shmuels
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2004 6:28 pm

Postby genady » Tue Feb 03, 2004 9:30 pm

Wait - are we talking about the RMI plugin or the JDK1.5 plugin?
genady
Site Admin
 
Posts: 397
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2003 5:15 pm

Postby shmuels » Thu Feb 05, 2004 1:24 pm

You asked about other plugins. I am running four plugins from the linked extension plugin folder. Two work and two don't work. You might be trying to use ECLIPSE_HOME for your own code. Anyway, refer to the traceback.
shmuels
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2004 6:28 pm

Postby genady » Thu Feb 05, 2004 8:04 pm

Ok, I move it to the bugs forum.
genady
Site Admin
 
Posts: 397
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2003 5:15 pm


Return to Bug reports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron